Museum of Podkrkonoší

Krkonoše Mountains

The Museum building is located in the city centre, next to the Church of the Birth of the Virgin Mary. The Museum exposition is varied; it is worth mentioning the collection of painted targets and saloon rifles, the collection of militaria, clock collections and the unique collection of relief carved beehives.

In 1991, the exposition called The Battle at Trutnov, 27th June 1866, commemorating one of the significant historical events of the Trutnov Region from the time of the Prussian-Austrian War was ceremonially opened. There are many unique exhibits of arms, equipment and outfits as well as historical documents here.

In 1998, another permanent exposition was opened to the general public called Treasures of the Past. In three halls, visitors may examine artifacts from many fields of human activity. In the first hall, articles of everyday use are displayed - irons, grinders, velocipedes, guild chests and others. In the second hall we will find examples of clocks, tin-making and glass-making products, old arms and sculptures. The last hall is dedicated to folk arts and crafts with characteristic painted furniture, clothes worn by farmers and patricians, household equipment and farming tools typical for the Podkrkonoší Region. The exhibition is closed with archeological findings dating back to the 13th to 15th century, mostly from the Vizmburk location, documenting colonization of the region in the Middle Ages.

Show more

Map

Zoom map

Opening hours

all months Tu - Su 9:00 - 12:00
13:00 - 17:00

Entrance fee

Full entrance fee:60,00 CZK
Discount entrance fee:30,00 CZK
Children:30,00 CZK
Senior citizens:30,00 CZK